The Core Dump

The Core Dump is the personal blog of Nic Lindh, a Swedish-American pixel-pusher living in Phoenix, Arizona.

Search
Cannon Beach, Oregon
Cannon Beach, Oregon

Learning English from the TV

Alex Trebek was one of the people who welcomed Nic to America, many years ago.

Thursday, 26 November, 2020

Justice will not be served until those who are unaffected are as outraged as those who are.

― Benjamin Franklin

#

Thursday, 22 October, 2020

Thieves of private property pass their lives in chains; thieves of public property in riches and luxury.

―Cato the Elder

#

Sunday, 27 September, 2020

People of privilege will always risk their complete destruction rather than surrender any material part of their advantage.

―John Kenneth Galbraith

#

Sunday, 27 September, 2020

Book roundup, part 31

Some very good history, some very strange novels and some slick space opera. Includes Enemy of all Mankind, A Very Punchable Face, Confederates in the Attic,Ballistic Kiss, Harrow the Ninth, The Library at Mount Char, Children of Time, The Last Emperox, and Cage of Souls.

Sunday, 20 September, 2020

Man is ready to die for an idea, provided that idea is not quite clear to him.

Paul Eldridge

#

Saturday, 18 July, 2020

Feline Follies Presents: The Uninvited

We are entertained by feline drama during quarantine.

Thursday, 02 July, 2020

It is certain, in any case, that ignorance, allied with power, is the most ferocious enemy justice can have.

―James Baldwin

#

Friday, 12 June, 2020

Book roundup, part 30

Back once again with the sci-fi and general calamity. Includes The End is Always Near, Eat the Apple, A Memory Called Empire,Gideon the Ninth, Infinite Detail, Permafrost, Fallen, and The October Man.

Monday, 20 January, 2020

The master’s tools will never be used to dismantle the master’s house.

Audre Lorde

#

Saturday, 21 December, 2019

Any sufficiently advanced incompetence is indistinguishable from malice.

―Grey’s Law

#

Saturday, 28 September, 2019

Impressions moving from an Apple Watch Series 3 to Series 5

Is there reason to upgrade from a 3 to a 5?

Friday, 27 September, 2019

Plans are worthless, but planning is everything.

—Dwight Eisenhower

#

Sunday, 08 September, 2019

Often injustice lies in what you aren’t doing, not only in what you are doing.

―Marcus Aurelius

#

Wednesday, 21 August, 2019

Die in a ditch

After all these years, Nic still can’t understand the American attitude to healthcare.

Tuesday, 13 August, 2019

The big thieves hang the little ones.

―Czech Proverb

#

Friday, 31 May, 2019

Book roundup, part 29

A sci-fi and fantasy heavy installment that includes The Valedictorian of Being Dead, The Mastermind, Broadsword Calling Danny Boy,Tiamat’s Wrath, The Raven Tower, The Liberation, The Light Brigade and Cryptonomicon.

Tuesday, 14 May, 2019

Politics is not the art of the possible. It consists in choosing between the disastrous and the unpalatable.

―Kenneth Galbraith

#

Friday, 22 March, 2019

Book roundup, part 28

Includes The Incomplete Book of Running, Aching God, The Murderbot Diaries, Lies Sleeping, The Consuming Fire, and Rendezvous with Rama.

Sunday, 17 February, 2019

Las Vegas trip report

Did you know Las Vegas is kind of nutty?

Monday, 31 December, 2018

To see all posts, visit the archive.