The Core Dump

The Core Dump is the personal blog of Nic Lindh, a Swedish-American pixel-pusher living in Phoenix, Arizona.

Cannon Beach, Oregon
Cannon Beach, Oregon

The greater the ignorance the greater the dogmatism.

—Sir William Osler

#

Saturday, 26 May, 2018

Working in the pod mines

What I wish I’d known when I started podcasting.

Tuesday, 01 May, 2018

It is impossible for a person to begin to learn what he already thinks he knows.

―Epictetus

#

Monday, 26 March, 2018

Smell the Foam Finger

Nic starts a new podcast about—gasp!—American sports.

Sunday, 11 March, 2018

Book roundup, part 25

Mostly excellent non-fiction in this installment. Includes Fantasyland, The Miracle of Dunkirk, Das Reich, The Undoing Project, Waiting for the Punch, Vacationland and Points of Impact.

Saturday, 03 March, 2018

The law, in its majestic equality, forbids rich and poor alike to sleep under bridges, to beg in the streets, and to steal their bread.

―Anatole France

#

Saturday, 03 February, 2018

A report from surveillance cylinder land as we wait for HomePod

Nic reports his experiences so far with voice computing from Amazon and Google and is a bit mystified at the reaction to Apple’s HomePod.

Saturday, 27 January, 2018

It is not necessary to understand things in order to argue about them.

—Pierre Beaumarchais

#

Saturday, 20 January, 2018

iPhone X impressions

After a few weeks of using iPhone X I’m ready to join the congratulatory choir.

Saturday, 30 December, 2017

The presence of those seeking the truth is infinitely to be preferred to the presence of those who think they’ve found it.

—Sir Terry Pratchett

#

Thursday, 28 December, 2017

Smart homes for the wealthy

Nic is interested in smart homes. His contractor let him know how the wealthy are already using them.

Sunday, 17 December, 2017

Book roundup, part 24

Lots of sci-fi in this installment. Includes Retribution, Boomerang, The Collapsing Empire, All Systems Red, and Ninefox Gambit.

Monday, 27 November, 2017

Review: Bosch TV series

A longtime Bosch reader looks at the TV series.

Wednesday, 04 October, 2017

Getting started with podcasting

A concise guide to getting started with podcasting, including equipment, editing, mic technique and hosting.

Sunday, 10 September, 2017

Review: Novels of the Malazan Empire

A worthy inclusion to the Malazan canon and great high fantasy to disappear into in troubled times.

Sunday, 03 September, 2017

"Either America will destroy ignorance or ignorance will destroy the United States.

—W.E.B. Du Bois

#

Saturday, 26 August, 2017

An opinion should be the result of thought, not a substitute for it.

—Jef Mallett

#

Sunday, 30 July, 2017

Photos from Pacific Beach

The Lindhs visit Pacific Beach and discover a huge bass system and surfers.

Saturday, 29 July, 2017

Book roundup, part 23

Includes a mea culpa, Hillbilly Elegy, Gulp, The Stars are Legion, and The Kill Society.

Sunday, 16 July, 2017

Putting new gaskets on the Kamado grill

Nic commits putty knife violence on his grill to replace the gaskets.

Tuesday, 02 May, 2017

To see all posts, visit the archive.

About The Core Dump

The Core Dump is the online home of Niclas Lindh, a Swedish-American man in Phoenix, AZ.

Read more about this site and Nic.

Contact

Archive

Subscribe to the RSS feed like the h4x0r you really are

Nic around the web

Creative Commons

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 License.
Creative Commons License

Tooling

The Core Dump is built with Jekyll, coffee, and giving a crap.